CIIR Talk Series

The CIIR Talk Series is a new initiative for researchers and practitioners working on information retrieval and related disciplines to present their work. Presentations will be held biweekly on Fridays from 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. (with some exceptions) for the Fall 2020 semester. The presentations will be online (for now) and open to the public.

Faculty Host: Hamed Zamani

Fall 2020 Schedule of Speakers


Friday - October 9, 2020 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: Grace Hui Yang, Associate Professor at Georgetown University
Zoom Link TBA


Friday - October 23, 2020 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: Donald Metzler, Senior Staff Software Engineer at Google
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - November 6, 2020 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: Leif Azzopardi, Associate Professor at University of Strathclyde, Scotland
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - November 20, 2020 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: Evangelos Kanoulas, Professor at University of Amsterdam
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - December 4, 2020 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Hosted by the CIIR and the Center for Data Science
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: Susan Dumais, Technical Fellow and Lab Director at Microsoft Research
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - December 18, 2020 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: TBA
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - January 15, 2021 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: TBA
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - January 29, 2021 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: TBA
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - February 12, 2021 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: TBA
Zoom Link TBA
Friday - February 26, 2021 - 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Talk Title: TBA
Speaker: TBA
Zoom Link TBA